City Council Subcommittees

The City Council creates subcommittees as needed to accomplish the work of the Council. Subcommittees are categorized in two types as described below, Standing or Ad Hoc. Subcommittees are used at the discretion of the Council to assist meeting the goals and objectives of the Council in an effective and efficient manner. Subcommittees do not replace the work or decision-making process of the City Council as a whole.

Standing Subcommittees

Standing Committees are more permanent in nature and address on-going areas of interest to the City Council. Standing Subcommittees are subject to the Brown Act requirements for public notification and record keeping. Currently, the City Council has three Standing Subcommittees:

Audit Subcommittee (Mayor Mark Arapostathis and Vice Mayor William Baber)

Citizen Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee (Mayor Mark Arapostathis and Council Member Guy McWhirter)

La Mesa Spring Valley School District – City of La Mesa Steering Committee (Mayor Mark Arapostathis and Vice Mayor William Baber)

Ad Hoc Subcommittees

Ad Hoc Subcommittees are more temporary in nature and focus on a specific task, which when completed, ends the subcommittee’s role as well. Ad Hoc Subcommittees typically will not last over an extended time period and the primary task or goal of the subcommittee should remain constant. Ad Hoc Subcommittees may not be subject to the provisions of the Brown Act, although efforts to gather public input as a part of the subcommittee assignment will provide adequate notice and community outreach to insure meaningful community involvement. The City Council currently has formed four Ad Hoc Subcommittees:

MacArthur Park – Community Center Subcommittee (Council Members Ruth Sterling and Kristine Alessio)

Downtown Village Specific Plan Update Subcommittee (Council Members Kristine Alessio and Guy McWhirter)

Civic Center Master Plan Subcommittee (Vice Mayor William Baber and Council Member Ruth Sterling)

Downtown Village Promotion and Events Subcommittee (Mayor Mark Arapostathis and Council Member Guy McWhirter)